Project Desk

IMG_1332

My newest project! I’m actually finished with the top and legs and have attached the desk top to the legs, but am not sure if I’m done because I might be adding a faceless drawer (more like a shelf) underneath the desk top so I’m trying to work it out. Had this idea and went out to the shop to start working on it, and didn’t draw it on sketchup.

I did a 10 degree angled cut using a 10 degree bevel from my miter saw. This gave just a little angle while still covering a lot of support underneath the desk. It’s going to support a lot of weight at times since I want to use it for my guitar gear and have my pedal board on the desktop, so the longer the support is for the legs the better!

Underneath the desk I used a 1/2″ plywood base to glue the top onto. It’s tight fitting as is but glueing it down to a base will add more support and should keep minimal movement from the top when the weather changes. I made some recuts of the top since originally there were some gaps, so recutting I was able to close a lot of those gaps but still used a bit of filler for the small gaps that did remain. Still deciding if I want to stain as well and whether or not I want to add in a drawer/shelf underneath so I’ll post more pictures when it’s fully completed! Also working on some new techniques that will be using on future projects so stay tuned!

Give Feedback...